Search Icon Search Icon Triangle Icon Triangle Icon Arrow Icon Arrow Icon Broken Arrow Icon Broken Arrow Icon Print Icon Print Icon Share Icon Share Icon Search Icon Search Icon Menu Icon Menu Icon Cross Icon Cross Icon Mail Icon Mail Icon

About us


BI-International supports library and information experts to extend their professional experiences internationally with financial funding for professional vitis, active conference attendances and study trips in Germany, and to discover new perspectives and establish new professional relationships.

Bibliothek & Information International (BI-International) is the standing committee of Bibliothek & Information Deutschland (BID), the Federal Association of German Library and Information Associations, to promote international professional exchange.


BI-International’s partners are: the Goethe Institut and the German National Library.

Search Icon Search Icon Triangle Icon Triangle Icon Arrow Icon Arrow Icon Broken Arrow Icon Broken Arrow Icon Print Icon Print Icon Share Icon Share Icon Search Icon Search Icon Menu Icon Menu Icon Cross Icon Cross Icon Mail Icon Mail Icon

Profil und Aktivitäten


BI-International hat die Aufgabe, den internationalen Fachaustausch mit Stipendienprogrammen zu fördern. Ziel ist es, die Kooperation und Kontaktpflege, den Erfahrungsaustausch und die persönliche Begegnung zwischen Bibliotheks- und Informationsfachleuten des In- und Auslandes zu aktivieren und voranzubringen.

BI-International unterstützt diese Bemühungen seit dem Jahr 2000. Gefördert werden Fachaufenthalte, Studienreisen und Konferenzbesuche. Mit dem Partnerlandprogramm und dem Projekt "Librarian in Residence" sind in den letzten Jahren zusätzliche Schwerpunkte der Förderung des interkulturellen Austauschs entstanden.

Bibliothek & Information International (BII) ist die ständige Kommission von Bibliothek & Information Deutschland (BID), der Bundesvereinigung Deutscher Bibliotheksverbände. Die Partner von BI-International sind: das Goethe-Institut, das Kompetenznetzwerk für Bibliotheken und die IFLA in Deutschland sowie als Zuwendungsgeber die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek.